Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Re-evaluating goals.

leave a comment »

Well, I got through January with a pretty good amount of blog posts for my one blog per day goal. However, I think I’m going to step back and re-evaluate that goal.

A little over a week ago, I happened upon this blog post on our local paper’s website: Top 10 Ways to Avoid Blog Burnout

The first one on the list, number 10, says: “10) Focus on quality not quantity. Never write just for the sake of writing. It’s better to have 2 good posts in a week, than 5 mediocre ones.”

I do have to say I agree. I was planning to post pictures on days that I didn’t have much to write about, but I don’t always take that many pictures. So, I’m going to change my goal to a 2 blog post per week goal.

The important goal, the one which I’ve only missed two days of, is my overall writing goal (not blog posts). I’ve written every day in January, except two, and that’s pretty good. I’m quite pleased with my accomplishment there. I’ve structured my mornings so that the writing time is built in and expected. Woo hoo!

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to do some beading. I’ve promised myself for awhile that I would make myself a pretty lanyard for my school I.D. badge, but just haven’t had the time. Now I’m making it! I even cleaned my desk so I could really enjoy it.

Written by nikkinbird

February 3, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Posted in Writing

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

