Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

I’m an introvert and I’m proud of it

leave a comment »

There are two books I’m dying to read, once I’ve finished my library books and can reserve them, or once I can purchase them.

One is The Introvert Advantage: How to Thrive in an Extrovert World

The other is Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

At UMD, I took a tutor training course as part of a requirement for volunteering as a writing tutor in the Tutoring Center. As part of the class, we took the Myers-Briggs personality test. I scored as an INTP. A couple years earlier, I’d taken it in Freshman Comp, and I’d been an INFP. That’s because the opposing items (Thinking & Feeling) in this case, are scored on a scale, and I’m pretty much in the middle on that one. For the Introvert vs. Extrovert one, though, I’m aaaallll the way over on the scale for introvertedness. There’s barely a scrap of my personality that leans to the extroverted side. One of the discussions we had in class was about one of the big differences between Introverts and Extroverts: to “recharge”, or relax, Introverts need to spend time alone, while Extroverts like to socialize to recharge. That doesn’t mean we don’t like socializing, it’s just that for us, socializing drains our energy, and we need a break sometimes.

I’ve been thinking a lot about being introverted lately and how much energy I’m drained of by working in a school setting. Not only am I with kids all day, having to be “on”, I’m also coordinating and supervising volunteers, training them, communicating with parents and teachers, and more. Luckily, for my introverted self, email has become the way of the future and I can do most of my communicating in that introvert-friendly way. However, I am so tired after pretending to be an extrovert all day every day! I firmly believe I can learn any skill I need to learn to be good at a job (it’s how I roll), but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t tire me out to learn the social things that don’t come naturally to me. But then, I happen to be at that point in my year of service with AmeriCorps where many people experience a “mid-year slump,” and have been fretting over whether I should continue on for another year of being paid next to nothing in exchange for being able to make a difference and awesome job experience.

So, I’m excited to read these books to reaffirm my personality type in this world that values so many extroverted traits. I’ve also enjoyed this article, 10 Myths About Introverts for telling me how awesome I am for being an introvert.

Here is a picture, because I like how cool my blog looks on iPads when there is a picture that goes with every post. Tashi decided to lay where the sun was shining. That spot just also happened to be on my notebook.

IMG_2715

Written by nikkinbird

January 31, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

