Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Chris’s sweater almost complete!

leave a comment »

I’m getting closer to done on Chris’s sweater. I shouldn’t really say “almost complete”, because the sleeves will take longer than they seem like they would. Here he is trying it on yesterday after I bound off on the bottom. We determined, however, that it was just a couple inches too short, so I had to rip back and am currently knitting a couple more inches before beginning the ribbing again. It may seem demoralizing to have to rip out hours’ worth of work and start over, but this is a fact of life for a knitter. Or at least, I’ve accepted that it is, and the acceptance has made my knitting life better. Yes, it may suck, but it’s nothing to get upset about. If anything, I’m just getting even more enjoyment out of my yarn. $50 in wool yarn (and that’s inexpensive as far as nice wool goes) keeping me entertained for well over 50 hours seems like a good investment to me.

(Yes, we still have our Christmas tree up. We got it late, and we never got to actually putting decorations on it because we were so busy, so we’re enjoying the cheerful lights a little while longer. I suppose February might have to be the cutoff huh?)

To rip back, I used the needles to pick up one leg of each stitch around the sweater (see below). Then, with the needles in place where I wanted them, all I had to do was rip, rip, rip! I didn’t have to worry about how far I was going, or catching the live stitches with the needles again. It just stopped unraveling when it got to the needles 🙂 Well, I shouldn’t make it sound so simple. There were a couple of spots where I picked up a stitch from the wrong row, and the yarn stopped unraveling even though there were still live stitches that needed to be pulled back. I got it with some shifting of stitches back and forth on the needles, though. I’m excited to start the sleeves, and equally excited to know that, despite the initial length, the sweater seems to be the right size. Now I just have to find out where I have my size 6 double pointed needles for the sleeves.

Project details:
Pattern: Incredible Custom-fit Raglan Sweater
Yarn: Ella Rae Classic Heathers
Needles: Size 6

IMG_2716

Written by nikkinbird

January 29, 2012 at 7:04 pm

Leave a Reply

