Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Rough draft complete! Look!

with one comment

Last night I spent most of the night doing this:

IMG_2705

Why I chose to take this long and torturous approach to making flashcards, I’m not sure, except that the answers show through the printer paper, and I couldn’t find the printable sheet of double sided flashcards I’d used at the beginning of the year. These will be very pretty, at least. I still have to laminate them, too. Whew.

But on to the real subject of this post, look!

IMG_2709

Look at that stack of paper!

Look at it again! Now in its pretty binder.

IMG_2712

It’s my finished rough draft of my novel. It even has an ending that makes some kind of sense. Even though it’s only a rough draft, and far from finished, it’s still a finished novel! This is a first for me. I’ve started stories before, and I’ve done NaNoWriMo before and made it to 50,000 words, but I’d never actually finished the story. I’m excited to revise it, and fix everything that needs fixing, but for now I’m going to follow the oft-repeated advice of taking a break between drafts. Have a nice rest, novel!

p.s. I forgot to mention that I printed them double sided. So, if you think about it, it’s actually double that amount of pages. Just sayin’.

Written by nikkinbird

January 28, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Posted in Writing

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] give it one. I’m not good at titles. I started it in November, for NaNoWriMo, of course, and finished the first draft on January 28th. I told myself I’d give myself a little break before starting the editing, and boy did I […]


Leave a Reply

