Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

My find of the day: vintage Hermes 3000 typewriter

leave a comment »

Chris and I stopped at Savers to look for a cheap table, and I found this neat typewriter.  I played around with it a little bit.  In its lid was some carbon paper, the manual, an extra spool of ribbon, and  a little envelope.  It also had the cracked plastic knob from the right side of the carriage return.  I thought it looked pretty cool, but wasn’t sure I was willing to spend $15 on it when I hadn’t come to buy anything but a table.  Still, $15 seemed like a good deal for a neat old writing-related thing. It would be a fun toy. When I got home, I took it out and tested it. I read the instruction manual to figure out how to unlock the carriage and how to change the margins and typed a little sentence on it. It works! The tape even still has juice left in it, and it types in red or black. While I was playing with it, Chris looked it up on Etsy. The cheapest one there was selling for $150, the others for over $200! Mytypewriter.com has refurbished ones here for $525! The only thing wrong with mine is the broken plastic knob on the right hand side of the carriage.

Here are some more pictures:

In its carrying case:

Carrying case opened, stuff inside:

The paper stuffs that were inside. The manual and a little envelope with a customer comment postcard inside:

Closeups of the customer comment card:
IMG_2687

IMG_2689

Written by nikkinbird

January 12, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

