Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Just because I’m bad at libraries, doesn’t mean I don’t like them

leave a comment »

Today I met Chris at his office in downtown Duluth and then we went to the library. Monday is the only day it’s open past work hours. I paid my fine and got my last name changed to my new one on my library card. This was accomplished by the librarian writing my new name in sharpie underneath where my old name was already written in sharpie on the back of the card. Oh, Duluth. So high tech. Still, I really do like that I can reserve books online, then just go and pick them up. I like things being recommended to me and then just being able to go get them.

I checked out Coraline and American Gods by Neil Gaiman and The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp. I have read some books by Neil Gaiman, but not all of the main ones, so now I am catching up.

Currently I am reading South of Broad by Pat Conroy. Chris got it as a gift before a work trip to Charleston, S.C. this past week, since the book is set in Charleston. I’m only a few pages in, but I’m excited to finish it so I can read these library books.

I just finished Rashomon Gate by J. Parker. I got it in a box of books someone gave me. It’s a murder mystery set in 11th century Japan, and I found the murder mystery part equally as engrossing as all of the historical context. I have couple of others with the same character that came in the box and look forward to reading those, too.

Written by nikkinbird

January 9, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

