Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

I love notebooks.

leave a comment »

I love notebooks. I guess the fact that I named this blog “Nikki’s Notebook” is a clue to that fact. I used to say that I collected notebooks, because I would always buy or acquire notebooks that I liked so much that I didn’t want to write in them. Anything I could write seemed like it wouldn’t be good enough to fill the special pages of my pretty notebooks. I’ve always kept a journal, but I bought notebooks faster than I could fill up one journal, so that didn’t solve the problem.

For NaNoWriMo this year, I cracked open a new notebook. Today, I started a second one for the same project. It feels like an accomplishment even though there are not as many pages as usual in these notebooks. These notebooks, by greenroom, I got at Target, and to me they are the perfect combination of pretty and useful. They aren’t so nice that I feel like I can’t scribble crap in them, but they are nice enough that I delight in scribbling crap in them. (Another day I will tell you about my special pens.)

I have used one as my work notebook so far this year, writing down all my notes and to do lists and brainstorms for projects. It’s almost full, and I used another when I started NaNoWriMo in November. They come in a pack of three, and I recently discovered that Target was carrying a new design and had to have them.

I like to write everything by hand first, even if it takes more time and makes my hands sore sometimes. Then I transcribe it all down into Scrivener. Scrivener is pretty and useful and will probably become more so as I get farther into my project, but I do love starting off with pretty notebooks.

Written by nikkinbird

January 8, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

