Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

I am bad at libraries and wish I could just buy all the books I wanted and make my own library

leave a comment »

I am bad at libraries. I got a Duluth library card last winter, forgot to return the books on time, got a letter that I owed the cost of the books and my fine was over $60. Moreover, it said the fine would be turned over to a collection agency if I didn’t pay it soon. I finally returned the books, but have been afraid to find out how much my fine still was, so haven’t checked out any more books since then. Today I logged into my library account for the first time and found out that my fine is only $6. So I guess I can go check out some books that I want to read now.

Today, instead of writing a lot like I always think I will on the weekends, I baked a loaf of bread:

It is the first time I have done this. I used “Lesson One: Your First Loaf” from thefreshloaf.com. I like that the article gives a lot of explanation about how and why the ingredients and methods work the way they do. There were some parts that I had to go back and read a couple times to get a grasp on, though. I am going to make another one tomorrow, because I used 2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour and 1 cup whole wheat, thinking it would make it lighter than straight whole wheat flour. Turns out, pastry flour isn’t good for bread making and results in a dense bread (I read ahead to lesson two).

While I waited for the dough to rise I walked the dog, but not our usual walk on the trail because the warm weather we’ve had made all of the snow melt then refreeze into smooth ice. The dog does not understand the effect of pulling combined with ice. He gets excited when I fall down because it’s something different that’s happening.

Also instead of writing, I watched two or three episodes of Modern Family and knitted. I’m now on the third black stripe of the sweater.

I also deposited a check I received for back overtime pay from my last job after I heard they got investigated for overtime fraud. I guess they were found fraudulent, then. Then I went grocery shopping. I cooked chicken, bought the organic tomatoes from Mexico that are ruining the world (or at least Mexico), and had this for lunch:

I was inspired to look up my library fines because of this post: 5 Timeless Books of Insight on Fear and the Creative Process. I reserved a couple of the books on the list.

I’ve just started using Twitter and have found a lot of interesting things through it. It wastes a lot of time, but I learn a lot too. So I guess that’s not such a waste of time.

And now that I’ve written this blog post, I guess I should go continue writing. I’m nearing the end of my novel, and an epic magical battle, and I think I need those books about fear and the creative process right about now.

Written by nikkinbird

January 7, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

