Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Frogged.

leave a comment »

Now that Chris and I are married, I can knit him a sweater.  I’ve knit him a scarf, and a few pairs of socks, but I couldn’t do a sweater because of the Boyfriend Curse.  It basically says that, if you knit your boyfriend a sweater, you’ll break up.  I’m not one to be superstitious, but we followed it anyway.  It seemed right that we did.  At Bella Lana, as the woman helping us counted out the number of skeins we would need of each color, she must have glanced at my hand, because she suddenly exclaimed, “Oh good, and you’re married, too!”  She started to explain the curse, but I told her we already knew.  “We waited,” I said, and felt a little foolish, because it sounded as if I were talking about having a child, not knitting a sweater.

I started a sweater for Chris using the Incredible, Custom-Fit Raglan Sweater pattern.  I was going to make it a v-neck using the instructions, but we determined the V was going to be too deep for Chris’s liking.  So I had to frog it.  

Here it is now, started over:

I’m used to ripping out knitting and starting over. Maybe it sucks having wasted all that time, but I’d be wasting more time continuing with the project only to have it turn out wrong. There’s something wonderful about beginning a piece of knitting, even if it’s for the second time.  This is one reason I love knitting short-row socks.  You start with one row, and then all of a sudden a toe just grows out of it.  Knitting is so small and un-fabric-like when you first start.  It feels so organic, just twisting some string around some pointed sticks, and gradually watching it grow. As the sweater grows, it will seem a more endless, daunting task, but for now, it’s magic.

Written by nikkinbird

January 1, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Leave a Reply

