Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Summer spinning, knitting

with one comment

What have I been up to?

I’ve been spinning…

Handspun falkland wool yarn

Chevalier singles 1

IMG_2604

And knitting!

Fern cowl

The cowl still needs blocking and probably a photo of me modeling it. The pink yarn is bamboo fiber, my first time spinning something other than wool or alpaca. It was a learning curve for sure! I have 8 more ounces of the same fiber to spin up soonish. The other yarn and singles are fiber from FatCatKnits.com. Lovely colorways! I love spinning dyed rovings to see how the colors are going to interact once the yarn is plied. Always a surprise and always interesting.

Written by nikkinbird

July 13, 2011 at 1:10 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the colors of your yarn. Where did you get most of your yarns? I have not spun yarn before but I love crocheting and knitting as well. I use knitting looms though. I love it. Please check out some of my creations on princess92028.wordpress.com and you will see some of the creations that I have done crochet and knitting there.

    Nicole

    princess92028

    July 14, 2011 at 12:50 am


Leave a Reply

