Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Knitting ferns

leave a comment »

It’s been rainy here, but I’ve noticed that on the dreary days, the greens on the trail look much greener.

I love ferns. My mom brought me some from her garden after she thinned them out. I love the lush, soft look a stand of ferns has. We had a cabin for awhile in northwestern Wisconsin when I was younger. A footpath went the river that divided our property from the neighbor’s. Along part of the path was a stand of evergreen trees, and underneath the whole forest floor was covered by ferns. I used to think of that little section of woods as the fairytale forest, because it had such a magical feel.

At Shepherd’s Harvest, I accidentally bought some worsted weight yarn that I thought was sock yarn to knit some socks for Chris. But since it’s not sock yarn, I ended up designing something else with it! I was delighted, flipping through one of my stitch dictionaries, to find a fern lace pattern.

And here’s my first attempt at a cowl:

That was the first version of the cowl. Then I had to rip it out because it was too big/I wouldn’t have enough yarn to finish it. Then I had to rip it out to fix tweaks in the pattern. Then I had to rip it out to fix tweaks I’d created by fixing the first tweaks. Finally I settled on something and I’m making progress.

Yarn is MacKintosh Yarns Skye Worsted in the Evergreen colorway.

Written by nikkinbird

June 20, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Leave a Reply

