Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Shepherd’s Harvest Sheep & Wool Festival

leave a comment »

It’s funny the reactions I get from non-knitting and non-fiber people when I tell them I’m going to a sheep and wool festival. One of them was, “Wait, you’re not like, dressing up as one, are you?” That’s why I feel lucky to have Chris, who, while not a knitter, spinner, or any other kind of fiber geek, was still willing to be dragged along to the fiber fest. He was excited to see llamas, bunnies, and appreciates merino wool outdoor clothing. Last weekend (May 7-8th) we went to the Shepherd’s Harvest Sheep & Wool Festival in Lake Elmo, MN. I did some shopping, and we checked out the stock dog demos, sheep shearing, and fleece skirting demos.

Sheep shearing:

sheepshearing

Fleece skirting:

The fleece skirting demo was actually really informative, and she gave a lot of tips for handspinners who want to buy a fleece and wash it themselves. That was good for me, because I bought those fleeces at the fiber rummage sale awhile back! I’ve been waiting for it to get warmer and sunnier before venturing into the fleece washing world.

I’m re-instituting the post a day goal. I’ve been majorly slacking, but I’ve got plenty of content. Tomorrow I teach the second installment of my community ed knitting class, and I’ve got some stuff to share related to that.

Written by nikkinbird

May 16, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

