Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

All warped up

leave a comment »

Got the warp all set up for my next scarf. Sadly, it’s been about a week since anything’s been on the loom. My nights seem too short now that I get done with work at 6. By the time I walk the dog and eat dinner, it’s 8 and feels so close to bedtime! I’m an early to bed, early to rise kinda person.

My next project is a scarf woven with Knitpicks’ Chroma. It’s a beautiful 1 ply, slow color changing yarn. They also have it in a couple of solids, and that’s what I chose for the warp.

When I got the warp all wound on, I discovered that my two warp chains were slightly different lengths. What happened here? I’m guessing I just wound them on the warping pegs slightly differently, but this has never happened to me before. I just shrugged and trimmed the longer one to match the shorter. Hopefully this won’t come back to bite me in the ass later.

warp chains

Some of the yarn looks like this, the one with the really thick fuzz halo around the string. I’m nervous about these parts, because the heddle might abrade against it and wear at the yarn as I weave. However, Chroma is stronger than I expected, because at one point I tried to break a strand of it just by pulling it apart. This usually works for wool yarns, but was more difficult than I expected, maybe because Chroma is 30% nylon.

fuzzy yarns

And here it is, all tied up and ready to weave! The grey yarn is just the waste yarn that you start with to get the warp threads all even. Tomorrow, pics of the scarf with the pretty colored yarn!

tied up warp

Written by nikkinbird

March 29, 2011 at 1:25 am

Leave a Reply

