Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Finishing mittens just in time for spring.

leave a comment »

Remember these mittens?

mittens2

I started them back in…what? October? I remember bringing them to knit on during my breaks at my brand new job at the nursery school. Then, one day, I discovered that the second mitt was noticeably smaller than the first. I was knitting it at a tighter gauge because I’d gotten used to the two color knitting. Apparently, this disheartened me so much that I had no desire to work on these mittens all through the winter months, even though I had no other mittens. Yes, I got through the winter with a couple of pairs of fingerless mitts. Which, when your outdoor activity mostly consists of walking from the house to the car, and then from the car into work, suffices even in a Minnesota winter. I did also borrow some mittens from Chris when I needed them, so I’m not that crazy.

Now that we have Gru, I’ve been borrowing Chris’s mitts every day when we take him on cold spring walks in the morning and in the evening. So I decided it was high time I revived the mitten project.

Now, after a couple of days, my mitts look like this:

mittens

I started them up again just in time, too! We have a blizzard warning in effect for tonight and might get up to 11 inches of snow! The snow hasn’t started yet, but it’s been super windy all day, more so as the day went on. The wind practically pushed me to the door when I took the garbage out tonight. After work, Chris and I drove down to Brighton Beach to watch all the big waves roll in. Now, I can enjoy the sound of the wind pounding at the doors and windows from the couch, knitting and tea in hand. Mmmm.

Written by nikkinbird

March 23, 2011 at 1:51 am

Leave a Reply

