Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Two green “Springtime” scarves finished

leave a comment »

Well, I seem to be slipping a little on my post a day aspirations for the year. However, the goal of a post a day has kept me posting at least a few times a week. This week, I started adjusting to a new work schedule. It’s only a half hour later, but getting done at 6pm makes the evening time pretty short. Now, with a dog, I’ve been getting up at the same time I got up for the earlier schedule, but adding a morning walk into it. Pair that with a good length evening walk as well, and I’m pretty unproductive at night!

My goal this week, weaving wise, was to finish the scarves I had on the loom. I wound enough warp for two scarves, and had only about 8 inches left to go on the second scarf before I was done. So this morning I finally sat down and finished it.

Here you can see the gap I left between the first scarf and the second. I wanted to leave space long enough for both scarves to have a decent amount of fringe.

IMG_2549

I didn’t get very far tying off all the fringe. So far all I do is either tie it in knots so it has groups of fringe hanging down, or if I’m in the mood I braid it. I haven’t learned how to twist it yet, but I should because I love the look. I took a break because I felt a cold coming on and had a strong desire to nap. I decided that, since it was the weekend, I don’t need to force myself to stay awake, especially if the rest might prevent a full blown cold! When I came back into the office, I found Tashi lounging in the sun patch in the windowsill behind my empty loom.

IMG_2554

Scarf details:
100 warp ends on 10 dent heddle
72″ long on loom, haven’t measured off loom yet
Yarn: Knitpicks Stroll Tonal in color “Springtime”

Written by nikkinbird

March 20, 2011 at 2:19 am

Leave a Reply

