Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

If you get jalapeño in your eye, rinse it with milk.

leave a comment »

Tonight I made delicious Cheesy Jalapeño Mashed Potatoes from The Whole Foods Market Cookbook, and boy were they ever delicious. I have learned that, since I want my food to be spicy, I should always disregard the directions to remove the seeds from my jalapeños when using them in recipes. I just leave the seeds and everything in and the recipe usually turns out just as spicy as I want it. Which is pretty spicy, but not overpowering. Anyway, besides leaving the seeds in and not peeling the potatoes, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.

But after I was finished eating, I rubbed my eye for some reason. It began to burn, slightly for the first few seconds, and then very, very intensely. I realized my mistake. I started rinsing my eye out in the sink, while Chris’s friend googled on his phone what to do. One of those online how-to articles said to put milk in a shot glass, put the shot glass to your eye, then tilt your head and open your eye. I tried this over the bathtub, and within two minutes I could open my eye again. Five minutes later, my eye felt almost as if it had never happened. Now, about 45 minutes later, I can still feel a little soreness in my eyelid, but thank goodness for that milk!

I don’t have a picture of the potatoes, but I do have a picture of the quinoa stuffed bell peppers I made last night. The recipe is from the same cookbook. I’m loving how accomplished I feel after making this stuff!

photo

Leave a Reply

