Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Weekend weaving

with 2 comments

This Saturday, I attended a childcare conference as part of the in-service hours I’m required to complete for the year. I was able to wake up early and start winding some yarn onto my Harp-as-warping-board for a couple of new scarves.

IMG_2474

After the conference, I finished the warp chains and started putting the warp onto the loom before heading off to a friend’s birthday dinner. This morning, I threaded the warp ends through the holes and started tying them onto the front beam.

IMG_2475

This is my least favorite part of warping the loom. I tie them in groups of ten, starting on the far right, then to the far left, working my way inward. I hate this part, though, because of trying to get the tension all the same. I tie everything once, then go back and fix the loose groups of yarn, and then by the time I do that, it seems that the rest have gotten loose. Today I alleviated some of my frustration by clipping my fingernails, which had gotten too long. It’s actually funny that my nails were too long, because I am normally a chronic nail biter and they were only long-ish because I’m getting better at not biting them! Anyway, tying those groups of warp ends in a bow is difficult to do without letting the yarn slip and loosen while you’re doing the bow part. But I got it done and then wove just over 51 inches of scarf today!

IMG_2482

That means one scarf is almost done, but I wound on enough warp for two. I’m exploring ways to make my weaving more efficient, since it will need to be if I want to be able to price things well for craft shows. So, because I’m doing two scarves, I’ve actually got to measure as I go! Usually I measure the warp, then weave until it runs out and hope for the best. This time, I have to measure the weaving I’ve completed. It’s kind of nice, actually. It makes me feel more purposeful in what I’m doing.

Written by nikkinbird

February 28, 2011 at 1:34 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for the photos and descriptions! A Kromski Harp will arrive in today’s mail so I’m online, trying to learn all I can. About those bows– I think a slip knot would do better; then you can adjust tension without untying. I’ll try it that way, too.

    Lori @ Just Pure Lovely

    April 6, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    • That’s a great idea to use slip knots! I used the bows because thats’ what the directions for warping that came with the Harp said to do. Or at least I think that’s what they said, but it was so long ago that I read it, now I do everything from memory. I’m glad my posts were useful to you, and I hope you have fun with your new loom!

      nikkinbird

      April 7, 2011 at 2:02 am


Leave a Reply

