Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Pretty yarn shipment. Complimentary cat.

leave a comment »

What better thing to motivate me to finish the scarf currently on my rigid heddle loom than more yarn waiting to be woven up into scarves?

IMG_2426

My Knitpicks order came today and it was so fun opening a box full of yarn! I haven’t splurged like that in ages. But then, it wasn’t a splurge because it’s working towards my goal of making scarves to sell at the barn sale this spring. So it’s an investment.

IMG_2420

Here’s the yarn all laid out. I got a couple of sock yarns, Knitpicks’ new “Chroma” yarn is the orangey ball and I got a white skein to use as the warp for that one. The gray and white balls of yarn are for a scarf for Chris to replace one that I’d woven that he lost on a work trip. He felt very bad and apologized for losing it, but it was really just a practice scarf I’d made with some extra yarn. And it was always too short for him to wrap around his neck more than once anyway. I also got some laceweight yarn on the off chance I’d like the airy scarf I’m making now, but I’m not sure I like the experience of it.

So tonight I worked away at the current lacy, lightweight scarf while watching the two latest episodes of Bones. I can’t really stand watching TV while doing nothing because it feels like a waste, and I get bored too quickly while crafting without anything else to entertain me. So I like to have lots of shows lined up for my knitting and weaving time. Otherwise I don’t stick with either for long, and it’s the perfect excuse to watch lots of TV and not feel bad. Overall, it’s been a good night. See you on tomorrow’s blog post!

Written by nikkinbird

February 8, 2011 at 4:32 am

Leave a Reply

