Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Superbowl knitting and delicious chip dip

leave a comment »

I have absolutely no interest in watching football, even when it’s the Superbowl, but I still feel the urge to hang around, eat snacks, and be with people for it. So, Chris is watching the Superbowl while I knit, and I watch the ads. I also made chip dip!

Lindsey Dip

IMG_2412

It may look like puke, but its’ oh so delicious. It’s also super easy to make. We call it Lindsey dip because our friend Lindsey introduced the recipe into the repertoire of my group of friends. I can’t call it anything else in my head; it just wouldn’t be right. Here’s how to make it. I think it would be a really fun recipe to make with kids, because you mix it with your hands.

How to make it:

8oz package of shredded cheddar cheese
8oz package of cream cheese
16oz jar of salsa

Wash your hands. Put all ingredients in a bowl together. Dig in with your hands and squish everything together! Mush up the cream cheese as best you can, but the little random cream cheese lumps that don’t get mixed in are a yummy treat to find. Enjoy Lindsey Dip with your favorite tortilla chips.

I also started a knitting project. Weaving doesn’t lend itself well to sitting on the couch watching TV. I did make some weaving progress, but I didn’t finish like I’d wanted to. I didn’t even make that much knitting progress. I picked a lace leaf pattern from my stitch dictionary for a pair of armwarmers out of my leftover sock yarn. It’s been going slowly, because I keep making mistakes that make the stitch count slightly off, thus un-centering the leaves, and having to tink back. Here’s a photo of my dismal progress:

IMG_2413

You can’t really see the pattern here, but you can see how far I got in a couple of hours. Actually, I can barely see the pattern myself in person. I just haven’t gotten far enough into it! Maybe tomorrow I’ll tink back and fix it. Right now I’m calling it a night!

Leave a Reply

