Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Travel urges, or just the urge to be somewhere else.

with 2 comments

IMG_0483Sometimes I smell something, taste something, or something about the mood in the air will remind me of somewhere else I’ve been and make me want to go there. For example, the right kind of spring day last year made me want to be back in Argentina. Today, something, and I have no idea what, reminded me of being in Mexico with my friend Erika, shopping at a certain gift shop that we happened upon for a souvenir for another friend who couldn’t make the trip with us. Something that I saw as I was cleaning up toddler toys made me want to be here, in the callejon in Guanajuato, Mexico, going up these stairs and around the corner to the university. The thing is, I know that I’m lucky to have been able to travel to a foreign country at all, much less five starting when I was a freshman in high school. But now that I’ve traveled and lived abroad, I want to do more and more of it! Alas, it’s not in the financial cards right now.

DSC00354.JPGWhenever I travel, I’m drawn like a magnet to the textiles of the area I’m in. I have a little doll from a town called Humahuaca in the province of Jujuy, Argentina, who is made of cloth and is holding miniature knitting needles fashioned from toothpicks, and the needles have a tiny garter stitch scarf hanging from them. Note to self: photograph this doll. In the meantime, this is a picture of me at the top of some stairs going up to Humahuaca’s monument. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to somehow have a career that not only allowed but required me to travel all over the world to study and learn about textiles in different countries? I bet there are people who do that. In fact, I know that there are people who do that, in various forms, whether it be anthropology or artists or whatever. Well, I will figure out a way to travel somewhere again soon. Or relatively soon. I do have a wedding to plan and all.

Written by nikkinbird

February 4, 2011 at 3:17 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. From the start of your post I was so engaged because I can def relate to what you felt today! It happens too often that I catch a whiff of something and instantly I am taken back to Mexico, Paris or Italy, etc. I almost want to be able to do it purposely just to have that moment where I am once again out on an adventure. Thanks for the post, glad this type of memory traveling happens to someone else. 🙂

    Best,
    Gisela

    From: http://agirlsgirl.com/

    Gisela Rocha

    February 4, 2011 at 3:43 am

  2. Thanks, I’m glad you liked my post! It is nice to know that the experience happens to others 🙂

    nikkinbird

    February 5, 2011 at 4:52 am


Leave a Reply

