Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

A photo journal of my evening.

leave a comment »

No fiber stuff tonight, except for a cameo appearance of internationally made items of clothing. For the past week or so, I’ve had a baking urge, and tonight I satisfied it by baking good ol’ chocolate chip cookies.

One thing I was very excited about was my brand new, very tall metal mixing bowl. Before Christmas, I made a whole bunch of white chocolate chip chocolate cookies, and batter was spraying out everywhere from my shallow glass mixing bowls. So, while we were in Minneapolis for Christmas gatherings, we stopped at Bed, Bath, & Beyond and I happened upon this mixing bowl.

IMG_2387

To further guard against spraying chunks of cookie dough, I now have an apron! Chris’s aunt gave this to me for Christmas. She lives in Mexico and got this there. The embroidery is gorgeous! I’m also wearing, for coziness’ sake, my giant llama sweater purchased in the La Boca neighborhood of Buenos Aires, Argentina when I was studying abroad there. I love getting textile related items from other countries.

IMG_2393

While I made cookies, Chris made homemade shells n’ cheese, in all its creamy artificial cheese product goodness. So shiny!

IMG_2395

Mmmm, cookie dough!

IMG_2397

Mmmm, cookies!

IMG_2401

They aren’t perfect, but chocolate chip cookies always taste good. Unless they’re burnt, I suppose. I’m disappointed with how flat and puddly they got before they browned. And then the edges browned and got crispy while the insides are chewy. If anyone has any tips for baking an all around chewy chocolate chip cookie, let me know! Still, these will be excellent for dipping in milk. Yum!

Written by nikkinbird

February 3, 2011 at 4:42 am

Leave a Reply

