Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

I’m going to Kentucky, I’m going to the fair…

leave a comment »

The other night I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t fall back asleep. I’m sure it wasn’t totally responsible for my insomnia, but I had “If you’re happy and you know it” stuck in my head and it sure wasn’t helping! The title of my post is the beginning of another nonsense song that the kids really like. It makes no sense at all and it’s entirely possible that I don’t remember the lyrics right, but it’s like this:

I’m going to Kentucky
I’m going to the fair
I’m gonna see the ice cream man
with (something) in his hair.
Shake it baby shake it
shake it ice cream man
make me a milkshake
I’ll drink it if I can
rumble to the bottom
rumble to the top
then turn around and turn around
until I holler STOP!

Yep. Completely random and whimsical. But it’s pretty fun to start singing a song and have the kids all quiet down, do the hand motions that accompany the song, and even sometimes dance.

In other news, the scarf is growing: (with epic kitty battle standoff bonus pic in the background)
IMG_2312

And spoils from a recent trip to Yarn Harbor:
IMG_2314

From top to bottom:
1. Brown yarn to make my own sack person from the game Little Big Planet.
2. Yarn to make mini snowmen from Mochi Mochi Land
3. Buttons to finish my Garter Yoke Cardigan, finally.

p.s. I apologize for the crappy lighting in the photos. It’s dark by the time I get home from work. As much as I wish I had the foresight to take photos in the morning, the only way this blog-a-day thing is gonna work is if I snap quick photos at night!

Written by nikkinbird

November 19, 2010 at 4:05 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

