Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

First snowman of the year

leave a comment »

IMG_2296

Yesterday it snowed and I had to go to work later in the day, where it is part of my job to shovel. Before I went, I got to sit around the house and enjoy being cozy inside while watching snowflakes swirling by as the world turned white outside. Then Chris and I made a snowman. There was even thunder while we made the snowman! Then I got ready for work, packing long underwear in case I had to shovel a lot and bringing hot cocoa to share with my coworkers after shoveling. But then I got in my car, and by the time I was about five blocks down the hill, there was barely any snow. Farther down, by the lake, it was only rain.

You see, here in Duluth, when you talk about the weather there is the weather “by the lake” and “up the hill.” This is the first year I’ve lived somewhere that I’ve noticed the difference. So even though it is fully acknowledged and widely known that the weather is often very different by the lake than it is up the hill, I have still been marveling at how we got so much snow at my house and there wasn’t any at work.

Speaking of work, I got a new full time job right around the time I stopped blogging regularly a month ago (oops). I am now a full time Assistant Teacher at a nursery school, and my days are now filled with spilled milk, runny noses, diaper changing, and a whole lotta cute and cuddling. I do think it’s pretty funny that I work at probably one of the only jobs where the question “Who has poop?” is asked at least twenty times a day.

It’s also important to note that this month is November, and I was going to do NaNoWriMo. Then I dropped the ball. Which is silly because here I am with a word count of 475 right in this post. Rather than stress myself out trying frantically to catch up, I think I will make it a goal to write daily blog posts for the rest of the month. There. I said it to more than just myself in my head, so now I have to do it. I do have knitting content, just as soon as I take some pictures.

For now, notice that the snowman is wearing mismatched Noro mittens!
IMG_2294

Written by nikkinbird

November 15, 2010 at 1:06 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

