Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Beginner’s Garter-edged Mitts

leave a comment »

Garter-edged Mitts Look, I designed some mitts! I designed these super simple fingerless mitts to use to teach people how to knit. I wanted something that could be knit up quickly, teach the knit stitch and purl stitch, and cast on and bind off. I think these mitts accomplish this pretty well. They are knit flat and seamed up afterward, leaving a gap in the seam for the thumb hole. In the past, I have been known to be pretty hasty with seams, and as a result was dissatisfied with a sweater I made (which I then accidentally felted in the wash anyway, sadly), so this time I made sure to do it right. This article on knitty.com was very helpful and I think they turned out very well. The pictures I took were before blocking, so the stitches still look a little uneven. I will take more after blocking and probably write up a pattern and make it all into a nice little printable pdf. I love pdfs for being so printable, and that my MacBook’s “print” window allows me to easily convert files into pdfs so that when I send people documents, I know they will see them formatted the way I want! Anyway, moving on…

In other news, we are still enjoying fall.Knitting and hot chocolate in front of the fireplace. We had our first fire in the fireplace, and it was oh so cozy! Unfortunately, the house filled with the smell of smoke, so the chimney isn’t drafting right, so we can’t have another cozy fire until we have someone look at it. Still, I’m thrilled that we have a real wood burning fireplace. The cats appear to love it as well. Tashi in particular has always had a thing for staring at flames. I have a picture of him somewhere laying in front of a candle, staring intently with squinty eyes. The fireplace evokes the same effect.

Written by nikkinbird

September 17, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

