Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Garter yoke cardigan

with 4 comments

I’m making progress on the Garter Yoke Cardigan. I’ve got one sleeve done, and have started the other! IMG_2198Would ya look at that? As far as I can tell, it should fit me perfectly. Based on my swatch, I don’t think it should act too much differently after blocking. I’m wondering if that is because I already blocked the yarn the first time I knit the sweater, and it won’t really stretch out more, or if it’s because I used more appropriately sized needles, so the knitting isn’t as big and stretchy? Either way, if it grows a little during blocking, it should be exactly perfect. There’s a possibility the sleeves could end up too long, but since I always seem to have a problem with sleeves that are too short, I think I can deal with that.

I want to finish this sweater so I can get started on my next project. IMG_1654I bought some yarn a while back (in February, it turns out) so that I could practice stranded colorwork. For whatever reason, I was sure sport weight was the right weight yarn to buy. Now, I’m discovering that most of the stranded mitten patterns I like are written for fingering weight! Thanks to Ravelry’s awesome search function, I found enough sport weight stranded colorwork mittens that I’ve narrowed it down to two patterns: The Nordic Mittens pattern, or this pattern from Drops. The bluish gray and teal yarns in this picture are what I’m using.

Speaking of projects, I’m going to be teaching knitting classes! The classes will be held in the barn at Chris’s parents’ house, which should be very fun. Chris’s mom and her friends just had an amazing shabby chic furniture sale in the barn and it seemed like a huge success, from what I saw of it. So, now I need to hammer out the details, like what kind of project to knit, how much I should try to teach in a 2 hour class, and other things. I’m excited though! I certainly have plenty of experience teaching crafts, but only to kids! This will be a whole different dynamic. I’m hoping for better motivation, since the people will have chosen and paid for the class and all.

Written by nikkinbird

September 14, 2010 at 6:05 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the colors you have chosen for you stranded knitting, and I think both patterns would look great! Can’t wait to see them finished!

    suddenexpression

    September 14, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    • Thank you suddenexpression! I’m excited to start with the two color knitting 🙂

      nikkinbird

      September 15, 2010 at 10:11 pm

  2. congratulations on the upcoming class! Your knitting is so gorgeous, undoubtedly your students will learn a lot.

    redfear

    September 14, 2010 at 8:26 pm


Leave a Reply

