Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Back at the loom

leave a comment »

IMG_1974It’s been awhile since I’ve woven anything, mostly because I had a weaving mishap that led the loom to sit, poorly warped, for months. Initially I’d meant to weave a scarf with all these colors of leftover yarn that I had. I don’t even remember what happened, but something caused one side of the warp to be crazily tight tensioned, while the rest of it was normal. Since I was at the beginning of the project, I tried to go back and re-tie the offending warp threads to even out the tension, but they kept tightening up on me again. And so the loom sat. About a month later, I finally did something about it. I cut off what I had of the project and folded the loom up. Yesterday, I finally went about fixing it up and re-tying the warp. I had to re-thread it through the heddle again, too. Time consuming! But soon enough I was weaving again. Unfortunately, all the issues, and the fact that this project was just a hodgepodge of colors I had lying around, have left me rather unenthused about this project. Maybe I’ll make it into a bag.

I’m making some progress on Muir. Slowly. I can tell it’s going to be gorgeous when it’s all finished and blocked, IMG_1970but it just takes so long to knit! Knitting lace has a different feeling to it, too. For example, when knitting socks or something else similarly tightly knit, I love the satisfaction I feel from seeing the fabric forming right beneath my hands, and the feeling of manipulating the stitches, pulling yarn into the right place. With this lace, it’s so wispy and light that it feels insubstantial. Stuff is going on, and I’m making pretty fabric, but I don’t feel it as much. Plus, it makes my hands and arms hurt after awhile, so I have to limit my work on it.

When I weave and knit, I like to have something to watch. Since I had to cut Netflix out of my budget, I’ve had to rely on Hulu, and I don’t like that many shows. Last night I decided to try out 10 Things I Hate About You the TV show, to see how it stacked up to the movie. As far as cheesy teen TV shows go, it’s tolerable, but it kept making me want to watch the real thing. I love that movie, and nothing can really compare. Still, it provided for hours of solid weaving and knitting entertainment.

Written by nikkinbird

July 2, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Leave a Reply

