Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Seed bead obsession

leave a comment »

Does working two jobs give me a good enough excuse to have lapsed on my blogging a bit? Either way, that’s my excuse. It’s been busy around here, especially now that AmeriCorps at my school and I have taken on planning and IMG_1804fundraising for the school carnival. Today we were supposed to be doing a car wash fund raiser with some of the middle grade students to get money for the carnival, but it got cancelled because of dreary, windy, and possibly rainy weather. Since my day is now free, I figured I’d catch up on blogging! Even though I haven’t found time for the blog, I have still been able to steal some free moments to do some crafting. I’ve been doing a little bit of spinning, a little bit of weaving, a little bit of knitting, but I’ve also had the opportunity to learn even more stuff. As if I needed to.

Lately, I have been obsessed with off-loom seed bead weaving. One of the managers at Bobby Bead IMG_1803gifted me a whole bunch of seed beads so I could play around with learning new techniques. And play around I did! I sat down one night and taught myself how to do brick stitch out of the book The Beader’s Companion, which was also given to me by Bobby Bead when I started working there. Then I taught myself peyote stitch, and I was hooked. For a few days there, I was consumed by it. I would get up in the morning and stitch a little bit before I had to go to work. Then I’d sit down after dinner and watch a few TV shows while beading all the way till bedtime. It’s addictive! There is something about how tiny the beads are, and the fact that you are essentially making fabric out of them, that had me completely engrossed in it. Then I tried out tubular peyote as well. Here’s what I’ve made so far:

IMG_1840

I don’t really know what I’m going to do with any of it, if anything. I’m hoping that the smaller diameter tube might become a necklace, but it’s gotten pretty boring doing a tube of the same color over and over. The problem is that I don’t yet have the knowledge or skills to make much out of what I know. I might do a few more samples so I can learn increasing and decreasing, and I’d also like to learn more about finishing techniques. Just as with weaving and fiber arts, there is so much to learn about beading! I’m glad, though, that there are always new things to learn, because it means I’ll never get bored.

Also, I got new glasses! Check it out. I needed new lenses, otherwise it would be physically impossible for me to do anything with seed beads without getting a major headache. I also wanted to replace my old black plastic frames that I’d broken in the winter. All I did was put them in my pocket while I was shoveling because they were fogging up! My frames were discontinued, but luckily I was able to find an almost identical pair. Thank you tax returns!
IMG_1792 IMG_1790

Written by nikkinbird

April 25, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

