Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

It’s been awhile.

leave a comment »

Blogwise, I seem to have dropped off the face of the planet, which really screws up my goal of maintaining a regular blog. I feel as if I have a pretty good excuse, though; I’ve worked every day at one of my two jobs since March 1st, and I still have 3 more days to go. Also, there was a cat emergency somewhere in there, too. Pretty draining. The schools start spring break today, so yesterday was my last day at school for a week. We also had a pretty easygoing week since after school classes ended the week before.

I have some stuff to show off, but Chris has the camera with him in North Dakota! For all my lack of free time and exhaustion, I’ve still been able to sneak in some crafts here and there, and I have a sort of tutorial to post for hemp jewelry as soon as I can get it scanned. I also finally got to buy some tools and supplies for jewelry making, but now I’m broke for the next two weeks, and I’ve run out of new combinations of beads to put together! It all does add up, doesn’t it.

I’m also at a standstill in my weaveable yarn supply, so I’ve turned to spinning some of the fiber I’ve had around for awhile. I’ve gotten through mostly all of my wool, and now I have some alpaca roving and some bamboo-silk, both of which I was saving for when I got better at spinning. I’m still not quite so confident that I won’t screw up this expensive and gorgeous fiber, so I’m scared to start. But you have to start somewhere, right?

I should be up and blogging (with pictures!) again as early as tomorrow when Chris gets back with the camera, at least through spring break. I’ve got a lighter workload for the month of April, so hopefully I can keep up with a minimum of twice a week again!

Written by nikkinbird

March 26, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

