Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Recent weaving

leave a comment »

Last night I spent the evening baking fimo clay beads that our students made in jewelry making class and mixing up salt dough clay for today’s Play With Clay Class. Since I go to bed pretty early, it took the majority of my free time for the evening, and I had to force myself to keep working, because I knew that taking a break would be the end of me. Thus, I declare tonight a night of doing nothing. Which, apparently, means blogging.

I got a lot of weaving done on this project over the weekend and am pretty close to finishing, but came up on a snag IMG_1720when I had to repair a broken warp thread. It was my first time having to do this, and I fixed it, but I haven’t had a chance to weave over it yet to get back to the normal warp thread. It’s made with Cascade 220 and took a little over one skein of each color so far, but I may have enough to do a reverse of the pattern. In the store, the less purpley color looked more brown than the pinkish that it is, and they also seemed to have way more contrast before I actually got them on the loom. I think they still look pretty together, though, and the subtle contrast will be nice. I can’t wait to get it off the loom and wash it to see what it looks like!

Here is a picture of the loom in action. IMG_1718I also thought I would mention that I recently discovered Weavolution, which is a lot like Ravelry but for weavers. I haven’t really done anything to my profile there yet, but my username is nikkinbird. I’ve been doing a lot of browsing of other people’s weaving projects and getting inspired, and I’m looking forward to the summer when I’ll be serving less hours with AmeriCorps and might have some more time to try new things! I can also tell that I’ll soon be wanting a floor loom to try stuff that’s not possible on a rigid heddle loom, but I want to explore all the possibilities of the rigid heddle loom, of course.

Written by nikkinbird

March 5, 2010 at 1:54 am

Leave a Reply

