Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Cute cats and a new necklace!

leave a comment »

Sleeping cats are cute.

IMG_1643 IMG_1581
The top one is Tashi, my baby kitten who’s not so much of a kitten anymore. He’s taken a liking to that big squishy pillow that is covered in polar fleece, and can be found napping on it no matter where it is relocated day by day. It matches his squishy face.

The bottom picture is Mr. Mao, my brother’s kitten, who is all kinds of adorable wrapped up into a tiny, skinny, clueless package. Someday I will have to get a recording of his adorable meow, because it is, well, adorable. He has a distinct preference for cuddles from my brother and no one else, but if he’s very desperate he may deign to sit in my or Chris’s lap for about 3 minutes tops, every few months. We take advantage of these moments, for he is the cuteness.

Yesterday I took a break from all the knitting I’ve been doing on my Raglan Yoke Cardigan and finished a necklace I’ve been meaning to fix for a long time. flower pendant necklace 2It’s very simple, but that’s exactly how I think it needed to be. I got this dried flower pendant in Argentina at an outdoor market, or feria. When I got home I made a cord for it by braiding some of the same maroon hemp, and attached it to a clasp, but one of my knots untied and it’s sat, broken ever since. I found it the other day while looking for some other jewelry and decided to finally fix it. I just did a simple square-knot cord and, after experimenting with different ways to string the pendant on, decided to just stick all the cords through the hole instead of one or the other and trying to tie around it. I think it turned out pretty well, and it doesn’t slide on the cord but holds firmly in place, which is exactly what I wanted. A good accessory for a Valentine’s Day dinner!

Flower pendant necklace I’m not anti-Valentine’s day, but I am anti- all those commercials that seem to claim that the only way to really show a woman you love her is to buy diamond-encrusted jewelry, and that imply that it’s only the men who need to do the gift giving. The things I’ve always liked about Valentine’s day are chocolate and the chance to hang out with people I love, be it friends or a significant other. Which are pretty much the things I enjoy about every holiday, really. Since this Valentine’s day was the first one since I was in eighth grade that I did get to spend it with a significant other, I was kind of excited. We made it low key but special. We had dinner at the Pizza Luce in Uptown, which was where we ate on our second date, which was also the date on which we made things “official.” Then, wanting dessert but not wanting to buy a huge brownie fudge sundae at Luce, since those can feed 5 people, we headed to the grocery store. We were going to get ice cream, but the idea of a hot fudge brownie sundae was stuck in our minds. Then, the genius idea was born. We had brownie mix at home, why not buy vanilla ice cream and hot fudge and make fresh ones ourselves? Brilliant! So, we didn’t even have to take the chance of getting a stale, crusty brownie, and we got to share with my brother and his friends, who were hanging out playing video games and watching the Olympics with us. And, since it’s always nice to be appreciated, it was great to hear them say “This is the best day ever,” when we offered to share šŸ™‚ Indeed it was.

My progress on the Garter Yoke Cardigan:
raglan yoke cardigan
Wow. Silly me. I seem to have photographed it inside out. Oops! Also, I am quite a bit farther than that now, as I have been sitting in front of the Olympics and chugging out rows, but at least you can see that I got past the sleeves and am on the body. I’m a bit worried because my row gauge was way off from the pattern and I’ve only made minimal adjustments. I hope it turns out awesome, though, because I’ve been wearing my new brown cardigan as much as I possibly can, and I am now hungry for more handknit sweaters!

Written by nikkinbird

February 15, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Leave a Reply

