Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Finished sweater! Well…almost.

leave a comment »

IMG_1649I finished it! Last night I finished the second button band and added the collar, and voila! My first successful completed sweater. It fits me, and I like it, and it’s going to be cozy. Just as soon as I weave in the ends and block it. I was a little iffy about the buttons when I first sewed them on. I bought them when the sweater was still in its early stages, knowing that I wanted a wide button band and chunky buttons, but I didn’t compare the color of the yarn to the color of the buttons when I was in the store. However, now that it’s all completed, I think I like it more. At first I thought they looked kind of clownish.

One thing that bothers me is that, when I button the sweater, the buttons pull at the holes and make the button band look wavy. I think that’s because it’s slightly too small for me, sadly. It’s not too small to wear, it just is a little too small to button up comfortably. I think it’s a small enough difference that I can probably try to block it a little bigger. I’m also thinking that the button holes are too big, and I may just take a darning needle to them and sew them closed a little smaller. Then maybe they won’t pull so much? I’m not sure. But, this sweater is by far the most wearable sweater I have ever completed, and I’m very proud of myself.

IMG_1646

Project details:
Pattern: The Incredible, Custom-Fit Raglan Sweater.
Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers in color “Cordovan” from Yarncountry.com
Needles: size 6 circulars

IMG_0504I actually found photographic evidence that I started this sweater much earlier than I’d previously thought. I thought that I’d started it sometime in August or September, but I discovered this photo of myself knitting the sweater on a rooftop in Guanajuato, Mexico. I went to Mexico with my friend Erika, who was going for a month to take Spanish classes. While she was in class, I had to find things to do, and after wandering the city for the first few days, sitting on the rooftop of the hostel knitting seemed as good a thing to do as any. That was during the first week of June! This sweater sat around, unfinished, for a very, very, long time. Sadness.

While I have this sweater momentum going, I’m starting a new one. I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll have it finished in time to wear it a little bit this winter! At the very least, there is always a lengthy period of spring where it’s cold enough to wear sweaters, too.IMG_1651This lump of orange is the beginning of my Garter Yoke Cardigan. I made a lot of progress on it last night while catching up on the latest episodes of Ugly Betty and Bones, my two favorite shows. I came down with a cold, starting with a sore throat, on Friday, and so yesterday I tried to be as low-key as possible. Sitting around catching up on knitting fulfilled that goal wonderfully. I tried unsuccessfully to nap, hoping that getting a whole bunch of extra sleep would get me well again before Monday. I can’t afford to miss any days, really, because I need to make sure I meet my minimum tutoring requirement of at least 60 minutes per week per student, and I’ve been having trouble meeting that with my 7th graders lately. So, I can’t be sick until Wednesday, when I don’t tutor them!

Well, time to get more knitting and relaxing lounging done! Oh, and p.s., sorry about the messy state of my living room in the background of my pictures! My brother and his friends have been driven out of the chilly basement and permanently set up camp upstairs as their video gaming headquarters. There are four TVs in there right now. Yeah.

Written by nikkinbird

February 7, 2010 at 9:07 pm

Leave a Reply

