Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

The trouble with tourist yarn.

with one comment

The trouble with tourist yarn is not knowing what it’s made of.  When I was studying abroad in Buenos Aires, Argentina a couple of years ago, my friends and I hopped on a bus and spent an afternoon at the Feria de Matadores, an outdoor market with all kinds of artisan goodies.IMG_1212  As we were leaving and looking again at the last few stalls, I stopped in my tracks as I spotted something amazing.  A stall with a small pile of yarn skeins on it!  I was immediately entranced.  As I started fondling the yarn, the woman running the stall reached under the table and began pulling out more and more skeins, much to my delight.  I ended up going home with six skeins of yarn in an unknown fiber.  But it was not completely unknown.  From the feel of the fiber, it has to be alpaca, llama, or one of the other related animals.  IMG_1213Either way, I brought it to my after school class on the day we learned about llamas and told them it was llama yarn.  I passed the yarn and two balls of alpaca roving around the circle of less than 10 children, and watched as dismay as they untwisted the skeins and unrolled the balls of roving, my fiber becoming more chaotic as they played with it, just to enjoy the feel of it.  As a knitter and lover of fiber, I couldn’t really fault them, could I?  Still, I rather quickly snatched all the show and tell items back from them and moved on.

So that yarn was one of my best treasures that I carried back with me from my time abroad.  And I bring a lot of treasures, for as a tourist, I am a compulsive trinket gatherer.  I especially love handmade souvenirs. IMG_1209The yarn has gone through a few variations as I tried to start projects with it, but I never quite found the perfect project to make with it.  Then, after bringing it to class, I realized it would be a perfect yarn to try in my new loom! And a scarf was born! This is my fourth project that I’ve done since I got my Kromski Harp, and so far it is my favorite. The drape of the alpaca (or llama, or whatever) yarn is amazing, and it has that soft, buttery feel. I’m also pretty pleased with the plaid. It was the first time I tried doing different colors in the warp. The width of the scarf is perfect, too. I made it extra wide so that it could be worn bunched up for more warmth. The only thing is, it’s not exactly my colors. If the brown were a bit deeper, perhaps. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it yet, but for now it is sitting around here looking pretty and letting me pet it. Of course, Tashi thinks he knows exactly what it’s for.

IMG_1218

Written by nikkinbird

December 21, 2009 at 9:17 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is beautiful!

    Elaine

    November 20, 2012 at 4:19 pm


Leave a Reply

