Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Llamas!

leave a comment »

Well, apparently I was correct in suspecting that it might be insane for me to begin a blog during November while at the same time attempting to do NaNoWriMo.  I haven’t had much extra time that didn’t end up getting used to write for NaNo, and what time I did have I used for weaving.  I completed my practice project awhile ago, and have since finished two more scarves!  There are still some things I need to get the hang of, but it’s getting there.  I must take pictures soon.  I’m itching to buy some yarn and weave up some place mats as Christmas gifts.

In other news, a couple of weeks ago I did a fun craft project involving popsicle sticks and yarn with the kids in my after school class.  I do after school classes as part of an AmeriCorps program that I’m serving in right now, and the one class that I lead all by myself is called Amazing Animals, with about 13 second and third graders.  It’s a challenge but it’s fun.  The kids and I made llamas and I put them onto a display board for a science fair themed family night.  I have photos coming up and I plan to post a tutorial on how to make the llamas!

Written by nikkinbird

November 30, 2009 at 2:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

