Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

New blogs and NaNoWriMo

leave a comment »

It’s probably insane of me to start a blog during NaNoWriMo, but there it is.  They are two things that I have been wanting to do, so I am doing them.  This is my second year of NaNoWriMo, and so far I am keeping up better than I think I did last year.  I am doing something else insane, as well: writing my novel out by hand.  Perhaps I will soon realize my folly and come to terms with the fact that I just can’t write as fast as I can type, but I love notebooks and fine point pens.  I really do.  I find myself focusing much better when I write by hand, and I feel more connected to the story, its characters, and my own thought process.  Writing it out by hand will help me accomplish one of my other goals for NaNoWriMo, which is to begin a habit of writing daily.  If I’m going to begin writing every day, I know that I am going to want to pen my original thoughts in, well, pen.

Aside from NaNoWriMo, I have been picking up some other new things lately.  My lovely boyfriend, Chris, got me a Kromski Harp rigid heddle loom, the 32″ one, for my birthday near the end of October.  I followed the directions step-by-step to create a IMG_0965warp and warp the loom, then had to use the DVD to figure out the weaving part.  I thought I was missing something, until I realized that moving the heddle between the up and down position was what created the weave of the fabric.  It’s amazing to me that people can come up with these things.  I suppose things like spaceships and skyscrapers are actually much more amazing, but I’m pretty fond of weaving looms, myself.  Not knowing exactly what I wanted to do, but thinking “scarf,” I made an incredibly long warp and have been using up a bunch of this old opal handpainted sock yarn that I’ve had around.  Next time, I will put a little more planning into what I’m going to weave, and I also want to try weaving with a worsted weight yarn.  I would like to have it go a bit faster!

For more portable fiber arts, I have some mitts that I’m making for Chris to match the scarf that he picked out yarn for this IMG_0975summer.  It’s Cascade 220 Heathers, except for the white, which is just white.  The mitts are being made out of the leftover maroon and gray yarn.  I erred on the side of caution so I wouldn’t run out of yarn for the scarf, and erred a little too far.  The pattern for these mitts is called Glittens and is available as a Ravelry download for $5.00 here.  I’ve never done two-color knitting before, so it has been fun to practice with these mittens.  They feel very warm and cushy so far, and I’m pretty sure that I will need to make a pair for myself as well.

And now, I shall leave you with a picture of the pumkins that we carved on Halloween.  Since we didn’t start carving them until 5 that night, and we only got 4 trick-or-treaters, we decided we needed to extend our enjoyment of the pumpkins, and perched them on the railing of the deck outside our office window.

IMG_0963

Written by nikkinbird

November 4, 2009 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

