Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Back from London, into Winter

leave a comment »

Note: I started writing this post in a little popup window from the front page of WordPress.  I don’t know why, but instead of autosaving drafts, it appears to have published the unfinished post at several intervals.  I deleted them, but later saw that they all showed up for me in Google Reader.  Sooo, if anyone else was spammed with this post several times, I apologize.  I’m also now experimenting with a desktop client called MarsEdit instead.  I have 30 days to figure out if it’s worth 39.95.

Now, on to the real blog post:

Chris and I are back from our honeymoon in London, and northern Minnesota has welcomed us with style!  After a winter almost completely devoid of any real snowfall, we finally got a blizzard!  I like blizzards, and I especially liked this one, because I got a snow day yesterday, which was supposed to be my first day back at work after the trip. Then, during my usual morning routine of checking the local newspaper’s website, I discovered that school was canceled again today!  The plows haven’t gotten to all of the roads, and conditions for the school buses weren’t good.  Yay!

Yesterday, we built a fire in the fireplace and kept it burning all day.  We relaxed and enjoyed the blizzard snow blowing in gusts all around our house.  Today, I’m ready to be extra productive.  I was all geared up to go to work, anyway.  Pretty soon, I will be getting over a busy hump at work.  The two weeks preceding our trip were extremely stressful, so this extended break is nice.  Now that things are almost calmed down, I can get back to regular blogging and be a little better about fulfilling my goal.

Here are some highlights in photos from our trip.  It seemed to us as though we didn’t take many photos, because we were too busy enjoying the experience, but it turns out we took over 150.  Not bad for being a little lazy at taking out the camera.  Click on any picture to go to its Flickr page, and from there you can also navigate through the full album of pictures from our trip.

IMG_2728 IMG_2727

 

IMG_2738 IMG_2751

IMG_2781 IMG_2794

IMG_2806 IMG_2875

IMG_2840

Written by nikkinbird

March 1, 2012 at 11:21 am

Posted in Travel

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

