Nikki's Notebook

My journey as a fiction writer and a place for my projects, writing and otherwise.

Afterschool classes starting again…

with one comment

And, it’s here again.  A new session of afterschool classes.  I’m getting tired of the spell check telling me afterschool is wrong, by the way.  I know the rule.  It should probably be after-school, but that gets tedious, and if words are in usage for awhile, the hyphen eventually gets eliminated.  Since  I’ve already seen publications use afterschool instead of after-school, I’m doing it too.  It just feels wrong every time I do it!  All I know for sure is, it’s not after school, because it’s an adjective.  Someone correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m fairly certain about this.

My afterschool program starts up again next week.  That means I’m receiving signup forms, processing those, and sending home signup confirmations while at the same time I’m still training volunteers, and even recruiting volunteers.  Tonight I had to bring home work in the form of handouts for my trainings tomorrow night and Thursday, and also afterschool signup sheets so that I could enter all the student info into an excel spreadsheet.  And I still need to get those confirmations home.

Something I am excited about:

Supplies for our Destination Imagination meeting tomorrow.  I bought a bunch of craft sticks and am going to let the kids practice gluing them and making a structure.  The wood is probably too heavy to actually be used for their structure, but I think these kids will need practice building a structure that stands up, let alone one that holds weight.  I love giving kids hands-on activities, because then I just get to sit back and watch the magic happen.

Written by nikkinbird

January 17, 2012 at 9:14 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are wise beyond your years…knowing that one must “sit back and watch the magic happen” when working with kids. Hang in here. It can be grueling but sooo rewarding. ( I agree..afterschool)

    Anne Mendenhall

    January 18, 2012 at 6:54 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

